3 Day Quote Challenge/ Day 3

80ec3c115bb2fdd4ac5409ec34c07428

“I pick my favourite quotations and store them in my mind as ready armour, offensive or defensive, amid the struggle of this turbulent existence.”

Robert Burns

I absolutely love Robert Burns. One of my favorite poems he wrote is “John Anderson, my Jo, John”. When I was a little girl my mom had a tiny blue and green plaid fabric covered book of Burns’ poetry. I cherished every minute of reading it, and would over and over. The quote I chose for today is relevant to me in my own life, as I am an avid quote lover and collector. I enjoy utilizing my collection whenever I am able. Defensive or offensive.

“John Anderson my jo, John”

John Anderson my jo, John,

    When we were first acquent,

Your locks were like the raven,

      Your bonie brow was brent;

But now your brow is beld, John,

      Your locks are like the snaw,

but blessings on your frosty pow,

      John Anderson, my jo!

John Anderson my jo, John,

      We clamb the hill thegither,

And monie a cantie day, John,

      We’ve had wi’ ane anither;

Now we maun totter down, John,

      And hand in hand we’ll go,

And sleep thegither at the foot,

      John Anderson, my jo!

And the nominees for the 3 Day Quote Challenge are:

Deboleena Biswas

Irenehalpinlong

The Melting Canvas

The rules are:

3 Quotes for 3 days.

3 Nominees for 3 days. (No repetitions)

Thank the person who nominated you.

Inform the nominees.

Thanks again Samuditha!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “3 Day Quote Challenge/ Day 3

  1. Ash, you chose a very special old fashioned poet. I admire the style and humor in the one you chose to write the poem.
    It is wonderful that your mother’s copy of the book won your heart. ❀ I think the quote about storing quotes as armour for good or bad effects was a fantastic one! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

