Learning to Let Go

“Change is never easy, you fight to hold on, and you fight to let go.”

            -unknown

For my painting, I used a 7mm mechanical pencil to sketch, and acrylic paints to add color. I used Golden gloss spray to seal, protect, and add shine.

“Some of us think holding on makes us strong but sometimes it is letting go.”

                   -Hermann Hesse


            When I was a little girl I heard the phrase “Silence is Golden”, and I remember giggling and thinking how funny it sounded, and what it could possibly mean. I internalized a lot growing up, and myself became silent and guarded around others. I learned to trust no one basically. To open up and freely give others my secret side, my side that is part of my soul, feels wrong. Going through therapy and my journey for mental health I have agreed I will release a piece of that part of me. But by no means will I release the whole. I fear if I do, I will cease to exist as me. My spiritual anatomy will be full of holes. Some hurt, some pain, some agony I refuse to relent. They are so ingrained into my soul, and I had to at times go through Hell to obtain them. They are mine. If getting a healthier mind means handing over bits of my unhealthy companions, so be it. But leave me with some of my anguish. Because that is a huge part of who I am.

                   Ash 

Hope everyone has a blessed weekend!  Ash 

33 thoughts on “Learning to Let Go

  1. Hello Ash!

    Yes, letting go is not easy… I struggle with it myself. I think that it is wise to be careful about who you trust, who you let into your inner circle., and who you choose to share your heart with. You are such a beautiful soul and you create such beautiful art. I think that is a beautiful way to let the world in. I am sending you great big *hugs* and hope you are doing well!!!

    ❤ Alana

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Stunning…this lovely beauty with her sealed lips and anguished soul and the message you do speak. I think , however, that eventually being able to let go of the anguish in you is the true path to being at peace with yourself.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

