The Siren Kira

This week has been really rough for me. I have been battling a nasty flu strain and haven’t been feeling good at all. Today I am feeling a bit better and pulled out my art journal. Drawing, painting, and writing always make me happy! I hope everyone has a lovely rest of the week!

“Thousands have lived without love, not one without water.”

             -W.H. Auden

“She is water. 

Powerful enough to drown you

Soft enough to cleanse you

Deep enough to save you.”

          -Adrian Michael

​

Kira, a siren swimming in Aurellian, an ocean between realms. She is gifted in magick, her beautiful voice can heal or kill. Kira can travel to any realm she pleases, and has lovers from many different realms. 

​
         

        Water has always been a source of peace for me. As an adult I will still seek out the cold metal ladder at the deepest section of the pool. Grasping the ladder and using it to push myself to the very bottom, pushing hard with my hands to stay seated, my bottom hard against the cement. I love that feeling. With opened eyes, holding my breath, immersed deep underwater. Feeling the surrounding pressure against my body. Hearing the whooshing sounds of the water. I hold my breath until I can no longer, then I push off from the bottom with my feet as hard as I can, releasing my breath in bubbles, I soar to the surface. I find comfort in this little ritual of mine. And when no pool available, I use my bathtub. Lying immersed in warm water, peaceful, calm, until I can no more, and then coming up for air.   

                      Ash 

  

25 thoughts on “The Siren Kira

  1. Great work and beautiful quotes alongside; water is an amazing element and I find it a paradox in the sense of feeling so safe and gentle yet dangerously powerful at the same time. I hope that you feel better soon Ash! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

