Bookworming and Tea

“Happiness is a cup of tea and a really good book.”

           -unknown

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”

                -C.S. Lewis

​
            My mom is really interested in the minimalist movement, so she has been throwing away a lot of her belongings. In the most recent batch of her unwanted stuff, I saved an awesome pair of SpongeBob sleep pants from being thrown into the dark depths of dumpster Hell. Holes and all, they are a new found treasure for me. So doning these amazingly comfy pants, I am starting off my weekend right. Gulping down hot cups of green tea with spearmint and honey, I will be diving into my daunting “stack” of virtual books I’ve recently purchased on Amazon. I hope that at least one of these books will be added to my list of favorites. 

​
          In my bookworm doodle of happiness tonight, I drew a few of my favorite books. In one of the books I drew, Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffeneggar, there is a story told by an old man. He is caught up in a conversation on his belief in the existence of ghosts or life after death, and he speaks of an experience he had as a child. His bedroom was on a higher floor in a huge, old house in England. At night he would sit up on his bed and watch the shadows of naked tree limbs scattered and dancing on his bedroom walls, illuminated by the moon. He would curiously watch this each night, and ponder it. For there was not one tree anywhere around his home, or on any of the surrounding property. So were these the ghostly apparitions of trees from long ago, that had once been alive, thriving, and quivering in the moonlight? I found this a hauntingly beautiful ghost story that I will always remember.   (The sharing of and thoughts on the little ghost story in Niffeneggar’s book from my memory. Not directly quoted.)

I hope everyone enjoys their weekend!

                         Ash πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Bookworming and Tea

  1. :/ I’m truthfully ashamed to say I don’t and never have read enough, but I do enjoy WP book reviews, ‘Her Fearful Symmetry’ is intriguing.

    Those piercing eyes I wonder what she’s thinking. (Ash you really are one of my favourite bloggers πŸ™‚ )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

