Tutor Time!

“What we hope ever to do with ease we may learn first to do with diligence.”

                -Samuel Johnson
      

        Today I had fun taking a couple of online portrait art tutorials on Youtube. I also enjoyed trying out some new media to create with . I used my trustee 7mm mechanical pencil, a medium charcoal pencil, and a pack of Simply soft pastels I had never used.

​
I had to use Q-tips as a blotter since I haven’t bought a pack of blotters on Amazon yet. I plan to set aside one day a week for art tutorials. I always feel so much better after studying and practicing new and old techniques. This year I really want to focus on facial features, shadowing, and more details in any of my artwork. I want to create less bland backgrounds, keeping them busy and interesting. Hope everyone has a good night! 

                     Ash πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

​

​

​

16 thoughts on “Tutor Time!

    1. Thank you Pradita! Not a self portrait, I spent a good part of the day watching art tutorials on shading and facial features. They were two I drew using the shading techniques that I liked. I tossed a good amount of my sketches. Some were hideous lol. xoxo Ash

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I really like this work and it’s good to see the experimentation with new media as well. It’s definitely a good idea setting aside a day for tutorials, I need to do it I’ve got a stockpile of art books to learn from and just don’t ever get around to it. Thanks for sharing another great post Ash! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve collected them over the past few years just buying one every now and then if it catches my eye and pleases my wallet haha, just need to work with them more I just get so stuck into my own projects.

        I hope you’re well Ash πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

    1. It took me three days to finish the colored pencil drawing. I’m learning to spend more time sketching and shading facial features. The eyes took me a few hours, I would work on then come back. Then I did the nose the next day, and hair and mouth the next. On tutor time they were sketches I used pencil and pastels. And used the shading techniques I’m learning. I still have a long way to go but appreciate you see my progress. I am working really hard to progress in my art so I do appreciate. I hope to keep studying and get better πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

